Why I Started (And Continued) Lifting- a guest post by Molly Brooke

“The decision to get in shape, and start weight lifting specifically, was a relatively impulsive one. A friend of mine had started power lifting, and was doing quite well for herself. She encouraged me to step into the gym, and see what I could do. So I did.

The decision to continue working out, to continue bettering myself, was a bit more complicated than that…

In 2012, I had the worst year of my life to date. My dad passed away in May, my mom was diagnosed with a brain tumour in October, and my grandmother passed away in December. All of this, on top of being a full time college student taking seven courses.

I wish I could say I came through a better person. But I can’t. It would be far more accurate to say that I flailed. I remained strong for my mom and my brother, but when I was on my own, I was a wreck. Relationships came and went as I struggled to find something solid to grab onto, something stable in the midst of my personal chaos. Something that would ground me, support me, and be there no matter what happened in the rest of my life.

In March of 2013, I stepped into the weight room at my campus gym, encouraged by my friend. I was surrounded by guys of all different shapes, sizes, and attitudes. It was intimidating. I knew I couldn’t bench press a buick, couldn’t squat a house, couldn’t dead lift a tank. I felt weak, small, and like I didn’t belong.

Before

March 25, 2013

But I kept going.

After a couple weeks, I already noticed changes in my body. My once twig like arms were shaping themselves, and my abs were starting to peek through. My weights were increasing, and I felt better about myself than I had in a long time. I shed the toxic relationships, threw out my negative mindset, and focused on life. Weight lifting was the rock that I had been so desperately searching for.

After

November 2013

What keeps me drawn to lifting, to the iron, is that it doesn’t lie to you. It tells you exactly how strong you are. Not just in terms of how much weight you can throw around, but in terms of your mental fortitude. Going every day, dedicating yourself, that’s a strength that few possess. But my favourite part about lifting, and working out in general, is that the results you achieve are the direct result of the effort you put into achieving them. They are your own personal triumphs. You cannot rely on anyone else to achieve these results for you, and no one else can claim them as theirs.”

– Molly Brooke

– – –

Follow Molly’s facebook page!

– – –

THIS girl. Man, this girl has been the single biggest real-life inspiration for my own fitness journey. Not only do we share many similar beliefs in regards to fitness (i.e. weight lifting is something everyone should be doing! 😉 ), but she has taken herself to a whole new level. She is dedicated like no one I’ve met before. She has gone so far as to enter a bodybuilding competition (which is largely the reason I began considering it for myself). And she is an example of what is achievable through hard work and determination on a very relatable level.

I absolutely love what she has to say about why she personally got into lifting, and I think it speaks hugely toward using fitness as a sort of mental stabilizer, as an emotional support, as therapy really. 

And, even more than that, I love what she has to say about why she’s stuck with lifting. What it all comes down to is hard work and how much you’re willing to put in to get what you want. It’s entirely up to you. 

Lifting can be as easy or as hard, as heavy or as light, as you WANT it to be, and you can expect your results to follow suit.  – Fit4Review

– – –

