But what if I just reallllly DON’T feel like it?

squirrel

Sometimes the idea of going to the gym and eating a healthy, balanced dinner makes me feel like that squirrel up there..,

Exhausted. Exasperated. Miserably unmotivated.

And we’ve all been there, haven’t we?

So I just wanted to take a quick second (because I’m feeling this way today) to tell you guys how I personally handle times like these… Ready?

I don’t go to the gym, and I eat whatever I want. :O 

Wait? WHAT?
But isn’t that hugely counterproductive?
What about sticking it out through the tough times?
What about results? Persistence? Determination?

Well, let me stop you right there, because I am an EXTREMELY determined person. However, I learned the hard way that it’s incredibly easy to burn yourself out on a goal if you stick to it like it’s the. only. thing. that. matters. I learned that forcing myself to go to the gym was a really easy way to make myself hate it, and that always eating healthy meals, and beating myself up over the few unhealthy splurges, was incredibly detrimental to my motivation.

I learned the hard way that, though health and fitness are wonderful things to strive for and even more wonderful to actually achieve, they are not everything. 

Sometimes you have to give yourself a break.
Even if it feels lazy. Even if it feels pathetic. Even if it feels embarrassing.

Skip the gym, and go back tomorrow (or the next day) when you feel good about it again. Trust me, this is way better than trudging through those 30 minutes on the treadmill or half-assing your lift, because you just don’t want to be there.

Eat a hearty, greasy, unhealthy meal of whatever it is that you’re craving, and then I challenge you to NOT be mad at yourself about it. In fact, don’t even ever think about it again once you’ve finished. Just carry on the next day with your normal diet.

Why?

Because cravings and laziness have to be satisfied or they will ruin you in the long run. 

– – –

Pura vida, stay strong, and TAKE A BREAK!

